Tag: driving laws
Find a school you trust
Is it almost time for your kid to get behind the wheel of a car? In this time, parents can be a bundle of nerves, but their teen is excited and ready for a new freedom. Even though this a scary time, the best you can do is give your teen guidance and a good driving school. Driving school allows your teen to learn with trained professionals and earn their permit.
The concept of a driving school has been around since before the 1940s. Here is a presentation about the history and evolution of driving education to give you a little more information.
Find a school
There a few different driving schools in the area. Here are our top driving schools around the Houston area.
Houston Driving School has three different locations on the west side. This school has an average of 3.7/5 stars on Google.
Champions offers teen, adult, and defensive driving courses, both in-person and online. They have two locations – one in Pinehurst and one in Cypress. They have 4.2/5 stars on Google.
With over 25 years of experience, Cypress Driving offers teen, adult, and defensive driving courses. They have four locations in NW Houston.
Monroy offers both teen and adult driving classes. They have one location in SE Houston with 4.8/5 stars on Google.
MVP offers classroom teen driving instruction, behind the wheel lessons, as well as adult instruction and road tests. MVP has 4.7/5 stars on Google.
QL offers teen, adult, and defensive driving courses. They also offer Spanish and online courses and 4.7/5 stars on Google.
Road Ready is located in the galleria area of Houston. This company emphasizes teen safety and also provides adult permit classes. They have a 4.5/5 star rating on Google.
This school offers an online course option and emphasizes space management to teach teens to be aware of the space around their vehicle for safety. They have 3.8/5 stars on Google.
Tony Driving School specializes in students who have already taken and failed the driving test, as well as immigrant students who may have difficulty learning the rules of US roads. They have 4.1/5 stars on Google.
West Houston is a driving school in Richmond, accepting students 14 years old and older. They administer the permit driving test and the Department of Public Safety road skills test. They have 3.5/5 stars on Google.
Follow us on Facebook for more helpful content like this.
Have you ever done something while driving and thought to yourself, “Is this legal?“. You’re not alone. We’ve created a list of driving law myths that may surprise you. Maybe your parents have been wrong all these years about leaving that interior light on while driving. Keep reading to find out the truth about some of the biggest misconceptions surrounding driving laws in Texas.
It’s illegal to drive with headphones: FALSE
While it’s legal for drivers in Texas to use headphones while driving, we don’t recommend it. Noise-canceling headphones don’t allow you to hear sirens or honking that could help prevent you from crashing with a nearby vehicle. There are some exceptions though, anyone under the age of 18 is not allowed to use headphones or any other wireless listening device while driving.
Neon underglow lights are illegal: FALSE
Some car-enthusiasts like to customize their ride with neon underglow lights. While these custom lights are legal in Texas, there are some exceptions. It is illegal for vehicles to have red lights of any kind in the front of part of the vehicle, as law enforcement and emergency vehicles use the colors red and blue.
Laser detection devices are legal: TRUE
While laser detection devices are legal in Texas, laser jammers are not. Laser jammers interfere and block the signals emitted from police radar guns. If you are pulled over and caught using a laser jammer, you could be charged with a Class C misdemeanor.
It’s illegal to drive a vehicle without a windshield: FALSE
While driving a vehicle without a windshield is completely legal in Texas, driving a vehicle with no windshield wipers is not. All vehicles with windshields must have working wipers and be without an obstructed view like a sticker or large crack. This law seems contradictory, as it’s one of the strangest myths to date.
Driving with a dog in your front seat is legal: TRUE
Let’s face it, we were all hoping this myth was true. As of today, there are no established laws stating you aren’t allowed to drive with your furry friend in the front seat of your car. But be aware, a pet on your lap can cause distracted driving and potentially be a safety hazard.
Driving barefoot is illegal: FALSE
Driving barefoot is legal in Texas and all other 49 states. While some don’t recommend it, you won’t be fined for it when pulled over.
It’s illegal to ride in the open bed of a truck: FALSE
We’ve all ridden in the bed of a truck at least once in our life. But is it legal? The answer is yes, but only if you’re over 18. Riding in the bed of a truck isn’t the smartest or safest thing to do, it’s better to grab a seat inside the vehicle with a working seatbelt.
Driving with the interior lights of your vehicle on is illegal: FALSE
This myth is old as dirt. Some grow up believing that driving with the cabin lights on in your vehicle is illegal, but the truth is, it’s not. Some say the light coming from inside the car creates a distraction for other drivers so it’s best to keep it off to avoid a hazardous scenario.
If you were aware of these driving law myths, take our quiz to see just how knowledgable you are about your state’s driving laws.
For more driving safety tips, follow us on Facebook.
This may come as a surprise to Texans *wink*, but not all drivers know the rules of the road. So what can we do to make the roads safer? Brush up on those driving laws! Even if you are a safe driver, knowing how to react to certain situations could lead you to make a safer decision, and in a timely manner.
Take the quiz below and find out how you fare. Then, find some pointers on these laws below.
Driving in TX: Do you know state laws?
Some traffic laws vary from state to state. Do you know what to do if an emergency vehicle is parked on the side of the road? Or when to use (or put away) your cell phone? Take our quiz to find out how much you know.
Some of these laws are tricky, and some have even changed recently. Here’s an explanation for each of these questions, in case you missed it.
1. If an emergency vehicle is parked on the right side of the road with it’s emergency lights flashing, what should you do?
If the vehicle is parked, you don’t need to stop, but flashing lights indicate that there’s still activity going on on the road. This is why Texas law says cars must slow down to 20 mph under the posted limit. Most drivers are inclined to slow down when they see flashing lights anyway since they associate them with police. Keep in mind there might be debris from an accident, people walking close to the road, and/or stopped traffic ahead.
2. What should you do if a school bus has its yellow hazards flashing?
School bus hazards are used much like those of regular vehicles. The most common use is when buses stop for a train track. Busses are required to stop before crossing tracks and look both ways. Drivers in their personal vehicles may not realize, or forget, and could run into the bus if they’re not expecting to stop.
3. Can you cross the median between freeway and frontage road in stopped traffic?
Crossing a median is illegal in all instances, but crossing between frontage and freeway (and vice versa) is a common maneuver for Texans. It may seem like a good idea to get off a slow road, but doing so puts other cars in danger when you merge in a location they aren’t expecting you to merge.
4. Which of these statements on handheld devices is true in Texas?
While Austin used to be entirely hands-free (no talking, texting, messing with electronic devices at all), Texas’ no-texting law overruled that one. Under this state law, sending and receiving messages is banned, but talking on the phone or using devices for other purposes is not.
However, drivers in school zones, drivers with permits, and drivers under 18 may not operate a vehicle and use handheld devices at all.
5. What do you legally have to do if you see a funeral procession?
It may be rude to drive past a funeral, but there’s no law against it. You don’t have to slow down if you’re not putting others in danger. The main thing is to be cautious and respectful.
6. When should you use a turn signal?
Even in a turn lane, you must use a turn signal, Texans. This signals your intention to cars around you. Even if you know you’re in a turn lane, other drivers may not.
7. What does the law say about using the shoulder lane on the highway?
Unsurprisingly, it’s illegal to use the shoulder as a passing lane. However, it’s perfectly legal (and encouraged) for slower drivers to move over into the shoulder lane to let faster cars pass on a two-lane highway.
8. Is it legal to parallel park facing oncoming traffic?
Even though this is common in residential areas, parallel parking the wrong direction is not legal anywhere in Texas. For one, you have to cross oncoming traffic to do so. Another obstacle is the way another parallel-parked car in front of you will block your view when you try to pull out.